Posts Tagged ‘tuff crew’

Stilltown Presents Philadelphia: Release Yourself

Monday, May 17th, 2010

Once again our homie Stilltown has made a great compilation and placed it on his own blog. Well, we decided it deserves to be seen also on T.R.O.Y. blog, due to material it offers.

Previous time it was Chicago compilation, but this time, he has focused on his own ground, Pennsylvania, but aiming on Philadelphia, not his home town Pittsburgh this time.

Stay tunned, cause soon, together with Stilltown, we will present you some dope Pittsburgh stuff.
Stilltown Presents Philadelphia: Release Yourself (2010)

*All tracks were recorded between 1987-1994*
01. Life Is Like A Nike Commercial (Just Do It) (Poison Ladd SLR & Beats In General)
02. Funky-Rye-Men (Ebony Broadcast System)
03. Outstanding (L-Rock)
04. Flex the Style From the Flow (Tyree)
05. Release Yourself (Phill Most Chill)
06. I Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Steady B)
07. Watch ‘Em All Take A Fall (Too Def Connection)
08. Flatline (Lyrical Underworld)
09. Ease Back (Jon Doe)
10. Rock Rock On (Cipha)
11. Check It Out (Lord Aaqil)
12. We Give Knockouts (Pure DeeFunk)
13. 45 Confessions Of A Killer (Legion Of Doom)
14. One Straight Binness (Tuff Crew feat. Shujaa & Class)
15. Sound In Your Ears (Tasc 4orce)
16. Kick Dat Stlye (Three Times Dope feat. Ruggedness Maddrama)
17. Checkin’ Down the Menu (Ruggedness Maddrama)
18. Beyond the Door (100X)
19. Boom Box (Lux)
20. Mind Over Matter (Tuff Crew feat. Emcee Mechanism)

Double Down Vol. 3

Tuesday, December 9th, 2008

This installment contains 11 tracks I’ve been playing on a lot lately. Rest in peace to the homie MC Breed.

Download, burn or throw them in your iPOD but most importantly enjoy them!

Double Down Vol. 3

01. Gauge – Cranium (Remix) feat. Cella Dwellas
02. Grand Daddy I.U. – Represent (Remix)
03. Kool G. Rap & DJ Polo – Trilogy of Terror
04. Tuff Crew – Northside Posse feat. MC Mechanism
05. Freestyle Professors – Hardcore Villain
06. Black Sheep – Still In The Ghetto
07. Funkdoobiest – Dedication (DJ Eclipse Remix)
08. Adagio – Listening Pleasure (Remix)
09. Black Starr – Make It Happen feat. Q-Tip
10. M.C. Breed – To Da Beat Ch’all feat. Erick Sermon
11. Professor Griff – Verbal Intercourse feat. Brand Nubian



And just encase you forgot…
Click to read Double Down Vol. 1
Click to Download

Click to read Double Down Vol. 2
Click to Download


Tuff Crew – Back To Wreck Shop

Wednesday, October 29th, 2008

I have to admit, I’m not the most knowledgable person when it comes to this Philly supergroup, so please leave a comment to fill in some info gaps or just drop some knowledge. This late 80’s multi-ethnic crew’s most notable member is probably DJ Too Tuff, who is widely credited with starting the turntablist movement, as evidenced on the mindblowing track Behold The Detonator, which is probably my favorite strictly scratching track of all time.

I’m not going to pretend like Tuff Crew was anything more than a group of proficient emcees – there’s no groundbreaking work contained here that would make Rakim shake in his boots. This is simply a very good album with street lyrics that will make you remember an era long gone (Wreck Shop, Show ‘Em Hell, Got To Be Funky, Down With The Program). However, when they try to rap about the ladies, it comes off as painfully corny and contrived, so avoid tracks like Gimme Some and She Rides The Pony at all costs.

If you like Back to Wreck Shop, then also peep Phanjam, Danger Zone, Still Dangerous, and DJ Too Tuff’s Lost Archives.

1. Going The Distance
2. Show ‘Em Hell
3. Gimmie Some
4. Mountain’s World
5. Got To Be Funky
6. Danger Zone Assault
7. Come On & Go Off
8. Behold The Detonator
9. She Rides The Pony
10. What You Don’t Know
11. Nut
12. Soul Food
13. Down With The Program
14. Wreck Shop
15. My Parta Town remix