Posts Tagged ‘last emperor’

T&B Presents… Heroes In Your Headphones

Tuesday, June 12th, 2012

Tired & Broke from the Philaflava forum posted a nice new comic and video game themed compilation this morning. Here’s what he had to say:

With the conclusion of E3 2012 last week and Comic-Con 2012 about a month away (and to try to bring more traffic to Electric Relaxation) I figured now would be a great time to drop this mix since gaming and comics are fresh on everyone’s mind.

It’s no secret the subject of Comics and Video Games have been a heavy subject matter and source of inspiration in the world of Hip-Hop for over 2 decades. There’s been entire soundtracks dedicated to it, and several independent artists have made “theme” albums based around a sole Character. Other artists have successfully based the majority of their career around Comic Book characters; Hero and Villain alike.

“T&B Presents… Heroes In Your Headphones” is a custom soundtrack I made of a collection of songs based around the theme of Hip-Hop, Comics and Video Games. Whether its the main topic of the song or the track has sampled elements from a gaming franchise or comic book cartoon series.


PS: Mega Shoutout to the homey dirt_dog on the custom cover!! Son put in work in a short amount of time and looked out in a major way.

01 Last Emperor – Secret Wars Part 1
02 Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire – Galactus Redux
03 MF Doom – Beef Rapp
04 Sole feat. Alias – The Video Game Song
05 7L & Esoteric feat. Beyonder & Virtuoso – Be Alert
06 Walkmen – Fortruss
07 MF Doom – Batty Boyz
08 Danny Brown & Elzhi – Contra
09 Mighty Joseph – Legend
10 Danny Brown – Lincoln Continental
11 Oh No feat. Medaphoar – The Ride
12 Percee P feat. Diamond D – 2 Brothers From The Gutter
13 Doc ILLingsworth – Bread Winner
14 Introspective Minds feat. Maf Maddix – Get Off My Cloud
15 Statik Selektah feat. Big Shug – Punch Out!
16 KeithCharles Spacebar – YINYANG Tekken Shit (Round 1)
17 Slug, Aesop Rock & MF Doom – Put Your Quarters Up
18 Willie Evans – Nerd English
19 Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire – Lou Ferrigno’s Mad
20 KeithCharles Spacebar – Dpad UP
21 Afu-Ra feat. Masta Killa – Mortal Kombat



Mind Over Matter

Wednesday, February 25th, 2009

Ice T – Mind Over Matter

Emcee Mechanism – Mind Over Matter (Remix)

Organized Konfusion – Mind Over Matter

INI – Mind Over Matter

Crooks Of Da Round Table – Mind Over Matter

Gauge – Mind Over Matter

Last Emperor – Mind Over Matter

K-Otix – Mind Over Matter

Ice T – Mind Over Matter (Instrumental)

Download everything in one mediafire folder:

I left these out:

Dope Posse – Mind Over Matter
T-Max – Mind Over Matter
Grand Daddy IU – Mind Over Matter
Ice T – Mind Over Matter (Remix)
Grouch – Mind Over Matter
DJ Faust – Mind Over Matter

Zion I – Mind Over Matter
Labtekwon – Mind Over Matter

If you know of any others, drop me a line.

–Roy Johnson

Last Emperor’s Demos

Tuesday, February 3rd, 2009

The King of Da Crates also known as
DJ Mike Nice recently laced us a demo tape by Philly native Last Emperor. This is the tape that Last Emperor submitted to Rawkus in ’96. The demo tape would contain future classic track “Secret Wars”. Last Emperor told Mike that it took him a year to write the song. Vincent Lopez(THIMK), a friend of Jamal Gray Aka Last Emperor, wrote about “Secret Wars” a few months ago on his blog. Last Emperor gained undergound popularity by appearing at the Lyricist Lounge as he always ripped the mic. Last Emperor is also considered one of the best lyrical emcee. Mos Def once said in
a discussion about “the greatest emcee of all time”: “Some Cats might say Jay-Z or Last Emperor”.
Vincent Lopez recently dug in his Timberland’s box full of cassettes and found demos & freestyles that he had of Last Emperor. You can check it here. (note: it includes some of the demos that Mike also had ripped, others are in next link)

Here’s a second compilation of other rarities of Last Emperor that weren’t included on Vince’s incredible post. (consists of tracks upped by philosophic-robert42hjh, godmc, verge, mike nice, and me).
Click Here to Download

— Thomas V

Backpacker Tapes Volume 1

Monday, December 1st, 2008

Backpacker Tapes V1 (1997-2000)
1. Wee Bee Foolish – Tiger Boogs
2. J-Live, Asheru & Grap Luva – Trackrunners
3. J-Treds, Yeshua & Pumpkinhead – Truly Gifted Ones
4. Siah – Repetition
5. K-Otix – Falling Behind
6. Basement Khemists – Petrified
7. Last Emperor – The Dozen
8. Styles Of Beyond – Endangered Part II
9. Masterminds – I’m Talented
10. Edan – The E’s Have It
11. L-Fudge – Liquid
12. Chali 2na – Cut Chemist Suite (Remix)
13. Sound Providers – The Field
14. Reflection Eternal – 2000 Seasons
15. Dujeous – The Future
16. Blackalicious – Shallow Days
17. Mr. Lif – I Am Myself


Wee Bee Foolish – Tiger Boogs

J-Live, Asheru & Grap Luva – Trackrunners

K-Otix – Falling Behind

Last Emperor – The Dozen

Dujeous – The Future

–Roy Johnson