Posts Tagged ‘hydra beats’

Hydra Beats – The Complete Collection Flood

Thursday, April 27th, 2017

Huge thank you goes out to Dirt Dog for this massive flood on the Philaflava forums. All volumes have been properly tagging and features all 14 releases from Godfather Don, The Beatnuts, Ghetto Pros, Nick Wiz and A Kid Called Roots to name a few. Links after the jump.


Debonair P’s “Hydrabeats Megamix (80 Beats In 80 Minutes)”

Thursday, January 5th, 2012

Pulled straight from the forum, Debonair P was kind enough to hit us with a new mix for the new year.

He says “I thought I would kick things off for 2012 with this mix I put together a few months back compiling my favourite 80 beats from the Hydrabeats series of instrumental records.  14 Hydrabeats records were released around 1997 on Hydra Entertainment, featuring instrumentals from producers such as Godfather Don, The Beatnuts, Nick Wiz, Ghetto Professionals, E-Boogie, A Kid Called Roots, The Unsociables etc.  While the tracklist is based purely on personal taste, I did try to include at least a couple of tracks from each of the 14 records in the series – hopefully the mix should provide a nice overview of the whole series.”

Get the tracklist and download over at his blog.


Hydra Beats – The Godfather Don Collection

Wednesday, July 29th, 2009

Godfather Don was one of my favorite emcees AND producers of the 90’s. He definitely had his signature sound down pat. Sleighbells here and there, smooth, sometimes evil, jazz xylophone bell type samples, and ill as fuck horn riffs. To me, Ultramagnetic’s Four Horsemen album is where he really started to make his mark and master his style.
In the mid 90’s, every once in awhile, I would see these “Hydra Beats” records on the shelf.
Whenever I would see a Godfather Don one, I would scoop that joint right on up. I still never had them all and never would until these days of the internet. At least mp3 wise, but it’s the music that matters.
So, today, we’re gonna bring you the entire Godfather Don Hydra Beat collection.
Get to downloading and get you’re CD burners ready for this one. You’ll definitely want to knock these out the jeep, especially at night.

Editor’s Note: Hydra released another Godfather Don instrumental album in 2004, but I didn’t include it here because it doesn’t really fit in with the sound on these. Also, by Part 4 of this collection, you’ll notice his change of approach to beatmaking and the drop off in that real Don signature formula [in my opinion], but there’s still a few bangers on there.

Hydra Beats Vol. 3 – Godfather Don Part 1

1. Buster

2. Depressed
3. Creepin
4. Gastric Juices
5. To The Bank
6. She’s Gone
7. Talk About
8. Research
9. Dark Church
10. Combustible
11. Culo Grande En La Calle Ocho
12. For My Pa

Hydra Beats Vol. 7- Godfather Don Part 2

1. Executive Technology
2. Cream of Corina
3. Slick City Sick
4. Hot Open
5. Mi Vida Enfermo
6. Ream-Embering Ivy
7. Fuck It Up
8. The Heat
9. Fist Full Of Pastelles
10. The Wicked City

Volume 8 of the Hydra Beats series was a double album with each of the following producers having a side to themselves: Godfather Don, Ghetto Professionals, The Beatnuts, and Sean C. Here are only the GFD tracks-

Hydra Beats Vol. 11- Godfather Don Part 3

1. Mental Liks
2. Pure Elevation
3. As the World Burns
4. Wilson Ave.
5. Getaway
6. Feel Me
7. Pay Back
8. Where I’m Comming From
9. Twisted
10. I’ll Be Back

Hydra Beats Vol. 14- Godfather Don Part 4

1. Unreliable
2. No Free Shows
3. Hey Why Show Up
4. Call Me A Cab
5. Boning
6. Just Mix It Yourself
7. My Driver’s Downstairs
8. Video Taping
9. Beep Lance
10. Porno’s My Game

Part 1 – To The Bank

Part 1 – Research

Part 2 – Executive Technology

Part 2 – Ream-Embering Ivy

Part 3 – As The World Burns

Check the interview that DWG did with GFD out here and learn that he is now part of a jazz trio.
Check kimani’s blog for the Hydra Beats not included here and more Don material here.
Scoop up other Don stuff that we posted here.
Thanks to dirt_dog for the cover art, which I forgot in the download, so download it from this page.
If you haven’t peeped the interview with Mike Heron(producer and A&R at Hydra), do that here. Some funny shit.
And stay tuned for some more Don treats.
We got something in the works you will appreciate.


AZ – A.W.O.L. (Hydra Beats Blends)

Sunday, July 12th, 2009

You already know what it is, but now it’s better. T.R.O.Y. forum regular, vaporized, went and laced the acapellas of A.W.O.L. with some of the highly sought after Hydra Beats instrumentals. Whether you thought A.W.O.L was dope, mediocre, or garbage, you’re gonna want to give this another listen right about now. It’s a completely different look over these mostly mellow mid 90’s soundscapes. I’ve had this in constant rotation for a couple of weeks now, and can tell you that this will be something to revisit often in the future.
Two tracks had to be left off because they just didn’t work. And that may be for the best because we all know this hip hop thing can’t be forced. My top 3 tracks at this moment are “Never Change”, “Street Life”, and “Chillin”. I’ll leave you previews of these three below the tracklist.

01. AZ – A.W.O.L. (E-Boogie blend)
02. AZ – Can’t Stop (Nick Wiz blend)
03. AZ ft. Raekwon & Ghostface Killah – New York (Unsociables blend)
04. AZ – Never Change (Beatnuts blend)
05. AZ ft. Half A Mil & Begetz – Street Life (Unsociables blend)
06. AZ – Still Alive (Beatnuts blend)
07. AZ – The Come Up (Kid Called Roots blend)
08. AZ – Chillin’ (Kid Called Roots blend)
09. AZ – Envious (Nick Wiz blend)
10. AZ – City Of Gods (E-Boogie blend)
Never Change (Beatnuts blend)

Street Life (Unsociables blend)
Chillin’ (Kid Called Roots blend)