Posts Tagged ‘afu ra’

T&B Presents… Heroes In Your Headphones

Tuesday, June 12th, 2012

Tired & Broke from the Philaflava forum posted a nice new comic and video game themed compilation this morning. Here’s what he had to say:

With the conclusion of E3 2012 last week and Comic-Con 2012 about a month away (and to try to bring more traffic to Electric Relaxation) I figured now would be a great time to drop this mix since gaming and comics are fresh on everyone’s mind.

It’s no secret the subject of Comics and Video Games have been a heavy subject matter and source of inspiration in the world of Hip-Hop for over 2 decades. There’s been entire soundtracks dedicated to it, and several independent artists have made “theme” albums based around a sole Character. Other artists have successfully based the majority of their career around Comic Book characters; Hero and Villain alike.

“T&B Presents… Heroes In Your Headphones” is a custom soundtrack I made of a collection of songs based around the theme of Hip-Hop, Comics and Video Games. Whether its the main topic of the song or the track has sampled elements from a gaming franchise or comic book cartoon series.


PS: Mega Shoutout to the homey dirt_dog on the custom cover!! Son put in work in a short amount of time and looked out in a major way.

01 Last Emperor – Secret Wars Part 1
02 Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire – Galactus Redux
03 MF Doom – Beef Rapp
04 Sole feat. Alias – The Video Game Song
05 7L & Esoteric feat. Beyonder & Virtuoso – Be Alert
06 Walkmen – Fortruss
07 MF Doom – Batty Boyz
08 Danny Brown & Elzhi – Contra
09 Mighty Joseph – Legend
10 Danny Brown – Lincoln Continental
11 Oh No feat. Medaphoar – The Ride
12 Percee P feat. Diamond D – 2 Brothers From The Gutter
13 Doc ILLingsworth – Bread Winner
14 Introspective Minds feat. Maf Maddix – Get Off My Cloud
15 Statik Selektah feat. Big Shug – Punch Out!
16 KeithCharles Spacebar – YINYANG Tekken Shit (Round 1)
17 Slug, Aesop Rock & MF Doom – Put Your Quarters Up
18 Willie Evans – Nerd English
19 Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire – Lou Ferrigno’s Mad
20 KeithCharles Spacebar – Dpad UP
21 Afu-Ra feat. Masta Killa – Mortal Kombat



Awesome 2 “Studio Record Freestyles (1996)”

Monday, September 20th, 2010

This is another piece of audio that I received back in my trading days. I never did any research on it until now. Released in 1996 on vinyl, it features 6 nice studio recorded freestyles done for the Awesome 2, which is the legendary team Special K and Teddy Ted. It’s tough finding much info on these two as their website has been suspended (relaunching in 2010), but you can find them on MySpace.

01 Chubb Rock
02 M.O.P.
03 Jeru The Damaja & Afu Ra
04 Channel Live
05 Busta Rhymes & Rampage
06 Das EFX

Here’s a vinyl rip of Awesome 2’s “Ahooga Breakbeats” that Thomas V put up last year.

Once all the ads and videos load, you can score an Awesome 2 radio show from 1990 RIGHT HERE on DJ Marioka’s blog.


A D&D Project In Association With DJ Premier Vol. 1-3 (1997)

Sunday, February 8th, 2009
The first volume of the vinyl-only series “D&D Project In Association With DJ Premier Vol.1-3” features songs by Afu-Ra & EZD. The EP, released in 1997 features guest appearances by O.C., Guru, Teflon & Billy Danze of M.O.P., Finsta Bundy, and more. It also includes future underground classic “Whirlwind Thru Cities”; it would then be released as a 12″ as well on his debut album “Body of The Life Force”.


Here’s volume 2 of the D&D Project series. It features new tracks by Mr. Dong AKA Clever Jeff. He released a full-length album in 1994 titled “Jazz Hop Soul”. I don’t have much information on his ’97 D&D EP though. I only know that DJ Premier produced “Let The Man” as it was featured on his “Rare & Unreleased Joints Vol.2” compilation. Nevertheless, the album is consistent and really dope! Make sure to check it out!


Here’s is the last volume of the series; it features East New York duo Brainsick Mob AKA Brainsick Enterprise. Brainsick Mob consists of Blacktarr & Jack The Ripper. Jack The Ripper is Lil Dap’s little brother. You can feel that they had an influence on Group Home as the sound of this release is really similar to Group Home’s Living Proof.


Vol.3 is my favorite release of the series. What’s yours?
Mr.Dong Vol.2 is uploaded by godmc
–Thomas V

Check Me Out

Friday, December 19th, 2008

In 1973, Eddie Floyd, Soul/R&B singer and songwriter, released his eight album “Baby Lay Your Head Down“. It featured a track called “Check Me Out” that contained a nice melody in the first 15 seconds of the song.

In 1996, The Firm released their first track “La Familia” on the B-side of Foxy Brown’s I’ll Be 12″. On that version, Nature replaced Cormega’s original verse as he left the group. Cormega was originally on the cut as the track was featured on many mixtapes around that time. The beat was sampled from the first 15 seconds of Eddie Floyd’s Check Me Out.

During the same year, Hip-Hop group One and One, which included Doctor Ice of the legendary UTFO, sampled the same part of Eddie Floyd’s song for their track “Phenomenon”. It was just phenomenal!

In 1999, Gang Starr Foundation member, Afu-Ra, released the track “Equality”. It was produced by DJ Premier and also featured the same part of “Check Me Out”. The way Premier chopped the sample was incredible! While the beat resembles a lot to “Phenomenon”, Premier made it feel like a hardcore beat with the drums and everything…

Fat Joe would also use it on his 2002 album “Loyalty” on “Born in The Ghetto”. It was one of the better tracks on the album. The beat went well with the topic. Excellent!

So who got the best track? You decide.

Bonus : Original Sample played at 45RPM

Props to godmc & ho1ogramz

–Thomas V

Jeru The Damaja – Non-Album Tracks

Thursday, October 16th, 2008

Jeru The Damaja – Non-Album Tracks

1. Speak Ya Clout w/ Gangstarr & Lil’ Dap
2. I’m The Man w/ Gangstarr & Lil’ Dap
3. You Can’t Stop The Prophet (Pete Rock Remix)
4. Come Clean (Scratch Remix)
5. Ya Playin’ Yaself (Spinbad Blend)
6. Me Or The Papes (DJ Premier Remix)
7. Return Of The Crooklyn Dodgers w/ Chubb Rock & O.C.
8. 1, 2 Pass It
9. 1, 2 Pass It (Remix)
10. Ya Playin’ Yaself (MF Doom Blend)
11. 5 Deadly Venoms Freestyle
12. Tony Touch Freestyle
13. Freestyle w/ Afu Ra
14. Graffiti w/ Digable Planets
15. Suicide Or Murder w/ Bounty Killer
16. When I Flow w/ Walkin’ Large
17. Me Or The Papes (Rae & Christian Remix)
18. Ya Playin’ Yaself (Vinyl Reanimators Remix)
19. Flip The Mic
20. Friend Or Foe

–Roy Johnson