Ras Kass’ Goldyn Chyld 10 Years Later

By now we’ve all heard the story… In the midst of various label issues with Priority Records, Ras Kass gets pinched for this third D.U.I. Granted an extension, he goes back to work, however, just two weeks before he’s scheduled to begin his sentence, Priority recants on their previous agreement, informing him that they will not be releasing Goldyn Chyld at all. The album masters then “disappeared,” and Ras Kass did his time, came home and moved on with his life. Though a few of the songs included on Goldyn Chyld have been out for a decade — as they’d originally been recorded for Ras’ third album, Van Gogh, which was bootlegged before it could ever be officially released — nobody, with the possible exception of a few lucky fans and other confidants, has since heard or seen the completed album… that is, until 2012.

New Philaflava board member madstadik (presumably that’s ‘mad static’ and not, well, you know) was kind enough to bless the T.R.O.Y. forum with what by all accounts appears to be a legitimate rip of the actual album masters, “which means correct sequencing, skits and not pieced together from parts of Van Gogh and leaked Goldyn Chyld tracks,” as he said. This time we’re not the first to receive the long lost album, but regardless, we’re more than happy to pass it along and extend our gratitude to madstadik.

As for the music itself, if you’ve been following Ras’ career since the beginning, it’s probably not far from what you’re expecting. You’ve already heard the album’s title track, so you know that’s a certified banger with Ras Kass delivering his trademark lyricism over some classic Premo production… but of course, you also know that Ras’ catalog post-Rassassination has been less than stellar. While I’m personally a fan of Van Gogh, I usually find myself in the minority there and honestly haven’t been able to defend too much of his work since then. That being said, after a few listens, I’m willing to rank this album on the same level as Van Gogh, maybe even a little higher actually. Of the 17 songs on here, a few fall flat but several are straight-up incredible. Of those I hadn’t heard before, “Revelationz 22:22 (Intro)” and “Happiness” are my favorites. Aside from them, what makes me prefer this album over Van Gogh is what I consider far superior sequencing and overall sound quality. Tracklist and download link are below.

1. Revelationz 22:22 (Intro) ft. DJ Kay Slay (prod. by Poli)
2. Goldyn Chyld Remix (prod. by DJ Premier)
3. The Whoop ft. Busta Rhymes & Dina Rae (prod. by Dr. Dre)
4. Everything & More ft. Mya
5. C What I C ft. Pharoahe Monch (prod. by Hi-Tek)
6. Is This Love?
7. Hate Me More ft. Jelly Roll (prod. by Jelly Roll)
8. Fuck U Up (prod. by Scott Storch)
9. NBA ft. The Golden State Project (prod. by Rockwilder)
10. Sex ft. Xzibit & Jelly Roll (prod. by Jelly Roll)
11. 4 Much ft. Tash, Bad Azz, Lil’ J & Nate Dogg (prod. by Battlecat)
12. Drinks Up High ft. Mikey Dan (prod. by Mikey Dan)
13. Happiness
14. Back It Up ft. Kokane (prod. by Rick Rock)
15. Kick Rocks ft. Tray Dee (prod. by Battlecat)
16. Kiss of Death ft. Sideline (prod. by Khalil)
17. The Seance ft. Kon Artis (prod. by Denaun Porter)

DOWNLOAD (fixed again, 2/11/13)

-Samuel Diamond

Share Button

Tags: , , , , ,


Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/content/48/7222948/html/thetroyblog/wp-content/plugins/bm-comments-and-trackbacks/bm-trackPing.php on line 37

31 Responses to “Ras Kass’ Goldyn Chyld 10 Years Later”

  1. unikone says:

    thanx ! nice work

  2. ESEUNO says:

    Good lookin’ out!

  3. Patrick says:

    Long overdue! Thanks for this!

  4. PurpleKushY says:


  5. Madsadik says:

    Yes its mad static!!! And i hope u all enjoy the album. The write up is spot on. Slightly better than van gogh. C what i C is nuts. Revelationz and happiness are ill too!

  6. Madsadik says:

    I had a source magazine add for this. I believe havoc was credited as a producers. Not sure what track(s). Possibly happiness?

    • Sam says:

      Thanks again man. Havoc’s definitely a versatile beatmaker, so I wouldn’t be too surprised to learn he produced that one or either of the other joints we don’t have credited.

  7. Madsadik says:

    And yes i spelled my own name wrong. Lol my bad

  8. Madstadik says:

    I ways what coulda been of his career if any of his lps had dropped. Dre seemed to be fucking w him and xzibit and was on board we the golden state album that we also got robbed of. I can only imagine how ras woulda sounded over the beats on games documentry album! Coulda been crazy cuz we all know game aint that nice!

  9. crackdaddy says:

    anyone notice how the cuts on this version of Goldyn Chyld has different scratches than the one we all know?? (at least me)

    “that’s what happens when you reach for what you can’t feel”

    is switched out with

    “from the city where niggaz known for puttin in work”

    or is that just because i actually never heard the “dirty” version of the track… now i am confused

  10. Im so glad i came across this post. Thank you.

  11. Jason says:

    Is there any way we can get a re-up?

  12. Philip says:

    Yeah I’d love a reup as well, appreciated.

  13. Aaron says:

    A reup would be very much appreciated.

  14. Mack says:

    Any chance of another download link?

    This finalised version is something i want to hear after all the bootlegs down the years

    help a brutha out!

  15. lemurien says:

    re-up please ?

  16. Tomek says:

    Please upload this album again, we need re-up! Please Troy

  17. Nick says:

    Can you please re-up this link!!

  18. Nath says:

    Will someone please put the link back up! PLEASE!!

  19. 128 says:

    Can you guys put the link back up on something other than mediafire? Link is dead and I really want this album.

  20. sk says:

    Can you please re-up this link? Thanks!

  21. Nick says:

    Link downloads and keeps freezing at 99%, even with using google chrome for the meg.co.nz website. Any other link possible? Maybe sendspace or rapidshare?

  22. Nick says:

    ^ NVM, got it to work after the 10th try. Thanks for the upload!!

  23. Terence Chill says:

    please re-up!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *