The Basement Khemist

Over at the forums, contributor Mr. J Selectah is an enthusiastic and generous fan of great 90s indie hip hop, always uploading rare treats for us to forage. Although he’s quite knowledgeable he is also humble enough to to ask his fellow T.R.O.Y. denizens to help him out when he’s stumped. It’s this kind of symbiotic relationship that makes out forum a great place to visit for rap fiends. Recently, he posted a thread full of advanced level questions, many of which remain unanswered.

One of the questions that stood out to me was whether or not The Basement Khemist (or “Basement Khemists” depending on who you ask) ever released tracks aside from the ones that appeared on a five track bootleg in late 90s. Selectah was kind enough to provide us with divshare uploads of these songs, and Roy Johnson upped a glitch-free version of “Petrified”:
Basement Khemists – Vibrate
Basement Khemists – Petrified
Basement Khemists – Everybody
Basement Khemists – I’m doin’ ya
Basement Khemists – Correct technique
So does anyone have any leads? We know from other internet sources that “Vibrate” was released on vinyl but what else, if anything is out there? Anybody? Bueller?
— Thun

Tags: , ,


22 Responses to “The Basement Khemist”

  1. JimboJones says:

    ….just checked, the b-side / a-side / whatever was Vibrate!

  2. The Big Sleep says:

    I don't see any other releases online but apparently they are from Kansas City and J Lee, Taha and Joc Max are the member's names. At least two of them are / were in the music game still as recently as last year. Source: http://demencha.com/?p=122

  3. Tricky Raider says:

    There was a CD release from the "Jigmasters" titled "infectious". It came with a bonus disc that featured this song.

  4. Anonymous says:

    cant download or play these for some reason

  5. verge says:

    All I know about them is that they're down with DJ Spinna. Maybe a quick myspace or facebook message to him will solve this? I haven't looked for him yet, but I'll give it a shot.

  6. verge says:

    ^^Thanks for the link.
    I sent Spinna a message on FB, hopefully he responds.
    All of these beats sound like Spinna jawns to me, definitely. Dope producer/dj, still does his dj thing in NY and dropped a pretty good album this summer, that actually featured a track with Breez Brewin and J Treds:

  7. Krisch says:

    Joc Max was Spinna's production partner back then when they did those Dome Crackers remixes for J-Live or Das EFX.

    Correct Technique was the b-side of "Take A Look" a 12" by Dome Crackers featuring Grap Luva

  8. Tired-N-Broke says:

    "I'm Doin Ya" was released on DJ Spinna's Beyond Real Experience Vol. 1. And Im pretty sure that they appeared on the Wide Angels Compilation (Joc Max listed as Brother Alphonso Greer and Taha as Khaliq) on the Track "Situations Realistic".

  9. Divinecontroller says:

    The skinny on this one is the Basement Khemists are from Kansas City comprised of Joc Max, J Lee and Taha. Joc Max was the DJ, Producer & MC on their tracks while J Lee and Taha rocked vocals as well. There were never any full length albums released by the group and at one time there was a demo deal with Elektra that never fell through. Joc Max has continued to do production and remixes on a slew of tracks and also appeared on most of Spinna’s projects as Brother Alphonso Greer after the Khemists took hiatus. J Lee and Taha (going by Brother Neves) are now a part of Heet Mob who is due to release a full length effort on Chuck D’s Slam Jamz label in December 2010 titled “Found Missing.” There are many underground tracks that never made it to the public and Joc Max still does production and remixes for many Hip Hop heads. Joc was also featured on the PolyRhythmAddicts super rap group album comprised of Dj Spinna, Shabam, Pharoah Monch and Apani B. His voice is featured on the chorus of “7 Steps Behind” and he did the production and I have a small production credit on the track as well (lowly bass synth programming..lol). All of the guys are still in Kansas City and J Lee and I grew up on the same block, Joc Max lived in a neighborhood a few blocks over and Taha who joined the group after it’s inception is from the Kansas City Missouri side.

    One of the most underrated and unsung gems in Hip Hop. There are countless remixes and tracks that you’ve heard produced by Joc Max.

    It’s My Life (the new Poly Rhythm Addicts featuring Tiye Phoenix who replaced Apani B Fly Emcee.
    Braggin Writes – J Live
    Chase the Blues
    Across the Globe
    Iz You Dee
    Another World (remix – Mos Def & Talib Kweli
    Stakes Is High (remix) – De La Soul
    Microphone Master (Domecracker Remix) Das EFX

    Joc Max has contributed with production or vocal appearances on the above listed tracks and there are many more official and unofficial tracks out there.

    Other artists Joc has worked with are Grap Luva, J Live, Truth Enola, Heet Mob, and there are many more…. Hope this helps. Peace!!!

  10. aleph says:

    Thanks for the scoop. Obviously a lot of Basement Khemist fans here. I found out about Heet Mob on the ‘net, they’re pretty dope. J Lee appeared on NY’s Underground Railroad radio show sometime in 99-00 and mentioned being part of a thing called “Soul Project”, and played a track I have labeled on the tape as “Kansas City” with a what sounds like a Busta Rhymes “HAAAAAAAH” sample. It’s a nice track but it seems to be one of those that never surfaced. Happen to have any info on that?

  11. Divinecontroller says:

    That track was from the Heet Mob and was titled Kansas City. It was released locally but never on anything major. When the Khemists went on hiatus J. Lee joined with the Heet Mob and later Taha (Brother Neves) joined with the group as well.

  12. Out West says:

    These cats also tossed in a couple of nice freestyles for DJ Shiite back in the mid-90s. They must have been out in L.A. for a while.

    You can hear some of that stuff on SoundCloud…just search for DJ Shiite and check out “best of…” volume 1 for starters.

  13. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you
    really know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally consult with my website =).
    We could have a hyperlink change contract among us

  14. Yacon Root says:

    Awesome Website. Really enjoyed reading.

  15. Loved reading your blog. I have shared on my twitter. I hope if you don’t mind. I am looking forward to more content.

  16. Darcie Tunis says:

    Very good report. I have shared this upon my twitter and facebook.

  17. Myrl Hipsley says:

    Excellent article. I’ve shared this upon my twitter and facebook.

  18. Lavonna says:

    After research a couple of of the weblog posts on your website now, and I truly like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site record and can be checking again soon. Pls try my website online as effectively and let me know what you think.

  19. Merlin says:

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  20. Jamey says:

    We went over here different website and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  21. Chelsea says:

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *