Sounds Like The 90’s (Volume 6)

Imma try and keep this shorter than usual since I just got back from my trip. The people wanted it so you are finally getting it-TAGS!

That’s right, moving forward all SLT9’s will be mp3 player friendly containing the proper tags and artwork. Volume 6 definitely has a more rugged feel than the previous efforts. The first half showcases what NY’s been doing for the better part of the year with the new Smif N Wessun featuring the Smith Bros.

Then we give you a taste of the new Marco Polo/Torae album Double Barrel, which I suggest you clicking on that link to preview because you just might be finding yourself at Best Buy later picking it up. I haven’t finished the whole album but based off what was leaked it was reason enough for me to cop it over the weekend (@ Fat Beats too)!

Former ONYX member Sonny Seez is back with a new 28-track album and our sister blog Steady Bloggin’ were kind enough to provide 8 tracks for you to check out. I felt
“Romp” was the best of the bunch and belonged on Volume 6. DJ Premier laced Blaq Poet with another joint and then we give you the latest by Chubb Rock and Wordsmith. I know the artwork reads Wordsworth and it would make sense for them to collaborate since they’ve done it before (Prince Paul) but this is Wordsmith. It’s my fault because I told the graphic dude (Kalel) the wrong thing.

Since Pete Rock and C.L. can’t put aside their differences we’re putting their newest tracks back-2-back on letting you decide who needs who more. Next up we got Superstar Quamallah making his 4th consecutive appearance with “Bass Murder” featuring Defari Heru. Don’t forget to cop Quam’s new album Invisible Man.

Making another consecutive appearance is the homie Godamus Rhyme with another leaked track from the T.R.O.Y. project “Classically Trained.” This time God tackles The Pharcyde classic and goes 3-3 with his remakes. And since I was in such a Pharcyde kinda mood, I thought it only made sense to throw on the recently remixed O.G. version by DJ Jazzy Jeff and close out the with Jean Grae’s tribute to Biggie.

Finally we have some newer tracks by Tha Connection, Tanya Morgan and ’09’s version of “A Milli” by Nathaniel Wilson. I did add a bonus track since it doesn’t really go with the theme but the subject matter definitely fits. Galvatron78 allows all of us Nintendo nerds to reminisce with his track “Playin Nintendo.” You can find more Galvatron78 tracks by clicking here.

Well that’s it from me. Hope you all enjoy the new volume and keep sending us those tracks! –Philaflava

[click image to download]

Sounds Like The 90s Volume 6

1. Smif N Wessun – I’m From Brooklyn feat. Smoothe Da Hustler & Trigger Tha Gambler
2. Torae – Hold Up feat. Masta Ace & Sean Price
3. M.O.P. Blow The Horns
4. Sonny Seez – Romp
5. Blaq Poet – Hate feat. Noreaga
6. Chubb Rock & Wordsmith – Old 2 The New
7. Pete Rock – Just A Word Or Two
8. C.L. Smooth – The Piano
9. Superstar Quamallah – Bass Murder feat. Defari
10. Grand Agent – It’s Only Right feat. Planet Asia
11. Giant Panda – 90’s
12. Godamus Rhyme – Passin’ Me By 2009 feat. Stik Figa
13. DJ Jazzy Jeff – Passin’ Me By (Remix)
14. Jean Grae – Hypnotize
15. Tha Connection – Realness
16. Tanya Morgan – Hardcore Gentleman
17. Kool G. Rap – Dopeman

Bonus Track
Galvatron78 – Playin’ Nintendo

Download Link #1
Download Link #2

Collect and download the previous 5 volumes here.

Super props to Kalel for always providing the dope covers and Strategy for completing the Sounds Like The 90’s series.

Share Button

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


One Response to “Sounds Like The 90’s (Volume 6)”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks 🙂 Past 5 Volumes have been awesome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *