iLLSTYLE LIVE! ‘Music from the Elektra Entertainment’ (CD 1995)

Here is the super rare promo cd version of “iLLSTYLE LIVE!” from 1995. Some of you probably already have the vinyl rip but guess what? I had it too, it’s time to forget about the cracks and pops and upgrade to the digital version.

The IllStyle Live LP was a live recording promoting all the rap acts from Elektra Records & EastWest Records. They had artists like Ol’ Dirty Bastard, Das EFX, Supernatural, The Juggaknots, 8-Off, … As you might already know, most of the artists were left with shelved albums. Luckily, a few of these albums leaked throughout the years.

While all the performances are on point, there isn’t anything close to the Ol’ Dirty session. ODB mentions how he didn’t want to come to the show on some classic funny ish. He then rocks a freestyle with Buddha Monk and 60 Second Assassin then starts to talk again and finally performs Brooklyn Zoo & Shimmy Shimmy Ya. Pete Rock is also the DJ of the night.

Ego Trip included iLLSTYLE LIVE! on their “Official All-The-Way-Live Albums” list. It still remains one of the greatest live performances ever released on wax to this day!

1. Intro
2. Daddy D – Luv On A Dub
3. Omniscence – Amazin’
4. Juggaknotz – I’m Gonna Kill You
5. Lin Que – Let It Fall
6. 8-Off – Ghetto Girl
7. Deda Baby Pa – Blah Uno
8. Coz – No Place Like Tha Hood
9. Interlude
10. Supernatural – Natural Disaster
11. Das Efx – Real Hip Hop
12. Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Freestyle/ Brooklyn Zoo/ Shimmy Shimmy Ya

Ripped exclusively by dirt_dog for The T.R.O.Y. Blog


— Thomas V

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,