Resident Alien Discography

A little while ago we told you about Wordbooty, a T.R.O.Y. Forum denizen on an unstoppable mission to compile the entirety of Prince Paul’s discography in mp3 format. With the help of the Duchess of Downloads, Ho1ogramz, he was successful in compiling two volumes of remixes credited to Prince Paul. Not too shabby. With an assist from Holo1Ogramz once again, he has amassed for you the discography of Prince Paul’s largely obscure Resident Alien project. Unfamiliar with Resident Alien? Check it:
In the early 1990s, at the ripe old age of 20, Prince Paulwas the man in demand after having produced hits for3rd Bass, Big Daddy Kane, and of course, De La Soul’s 3 Feet High and Rising. Although rumor has it that Paul was quite happy to stick to producing, Lyor Cohenconvinced him to take on his own imprint at Def Jam/RAL – and hence the Dew Doo Man was born. Things were rocky from the start, with Russell Simmons’ less than enthusiastic reception to this new label’s name, but Paul took his advance and his A&R freedom and began to work on Dew Doo Man’s first release.

The first release that Paul came up with was a concept album – It Takes a Nation of Suckas To Let Us In – based around the characters of three immigrants from the Caribbean who had recently relocated to Long Island. This idea didn’t exactly scream “millions of sales,” and Def Jam didn’t react well to the product they were being delivered. Their vision of the label was one that would release radio friendly, pop influenced tracks, which was clearly not what Paul had in mind. The label didn’t care for any of the other acts that Paul had waiting in the wings, either.

In the end, the only release to ever come out on the Dew Doo Man imprint was the Resident Alien 12″ Mr. Boops. Paul had a meeting with Cohen to try and save the label, but Cohen opted to shut down operations, leaving the full length album languishing unreleased. (Source)
Typical industry polititrix, yo. No wonder Paul went on to conceptualize Gravediggaz. As for the album – fortunately we live in a wondrous future-topia where even shelved and lost album can see the light of day. It’s been floating around the net for some time now. In my humble opinion It Takes A Nation Of Suckas To Let Us In is a fun, worthwhile listen, if not necessarily on par with the many, many great full-length releases helmed by Prince Paul. The concept is clever, there are some wonderfully absurd/beautiful musical moments, and there’s a cameo by Dres, but Prince Paul is so much better off working with top notch lyricists. Still, it’s a nice little curiosity from one of hip-hop’s greatest minds. Peep the album, plus some related vinyl material.
Resident Alien - It Takes A Nation Of Suckers To Let Us In LP (1991) 
Resident Alien “Pum Pum Master” from DJ Red Alert’s Dancehall Show (1994) [Download]
Horror City ft. Resident Alien 12″ Marz Records (1994) 
A1 – Aah’s & Oohh’s 
A2 – Wine Fi Kill 
B1 – Moogler 
B2 – Freestyle Fiend 
— Thun

Tags: , , ,


21 Responses to “Resident Alien Discography”

  1. Fosterakahunter says:

    Dopeness and classicist (Thanks, Kev:), as always.

  2. THE MAYOR says:

    I cant thank yall enough for this

  3. Andrew says:

    there's a pretty rare promo only 12" of 'Dew Doo Man' too. Not the version with 'Mr Boops' and 'Shakey ground' on.

  4. Elliott Wilson says:

    Need "Dew Doo Man" Instrumental

  5. Anonymous says:

    Awesome shit! Can you re-up "Pum Pum Master"?

  6. verge says:

    @anonymous- Thanks for the feedback. Check the Megaupload link in the original Sharebee link.
    I just tried it and it still worked.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Got it! I use Skipscreen to download files, and for some reason it was skipping me straight to the Zshare link, which is expired. The Megaupload link worked for me.

    Thanks for all the awesome stuff you post in this blog — I came here via google the other night looking for the Resident Alien LP, and now I plan to stick around.

  8. verge says:

    @Anonymous- No problem.That's what's up, stick around. We got plenty of great stuff lined up and we don't plan on relenting. Search through our archives and you'll find plenty more gems. Thanks for following.
    Peace, Verge

  9. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for info about this subject for ages and yours is the best I have found out so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you positive about the supply?|What i do not understood is in fact how you’re no longer actually a lot more well-preferred than you might be right now. You are so intelligent.

  10. Karuna says:

    Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with almost all significant infos. I’d like to peer more posts like this .

  11. Umang says:

    Attractive component to content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I success you get admission to consistently fast.

  12. Khokher says:

    Hi there, simply become aware of your weblog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate should you continue this in future. Lots of folks will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  13. Nice weblog right here! Additionally your site loads up very fast! What host are you using? Can I get your associate hyperlink for your host? I desire my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  14. hello!,I love your writing so so much! percentage we keep up a correspondence more approximately your article on AOL? I require a specialist in this space to resolve my problem. May be that is you! Having a look ahead to see you.

  15. Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity for your publish is just nice and i could suppose you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to stay updated with drawing close post. Thanks one million and please continue the gratifying work.

  16. Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your web site by chance, and I’m surprised why this twist of fate did not came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  17. Namitha says:

    Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for info about this subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve came upon till now. However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the source?|What i do not realize is if truth be told how you’re now not actually a lot more neatly-appreciated than you may be now. You are so intelligent.

  18. Dirk Hundley says:

    obviously like your web-site but you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to tell the truth then again I will certainly come again again.|

  19. Asking questions are genuinely nice thing if you are not understanding anything completely, however this post offers nice understanding even.|

  20. Ahaa, its good discussion concerning this article at this place at this blog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.|

  21. Ramona Axel says:

    Someone essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular post amazing. Magnificent job!|

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *